Liquid error: Could not find asset snippets/bold-common.liquid

World Without End Book 2 [Tv Tie-In]

Author: Ken Follett

SKU: 9781447218708

R 149.00

The peasants are revolting. Some, anyway. Others the good-hearted varlets, churls and nick purses of Follett’s latest are just fine. In a departure from his usual taut, economical procedurals (Whiteout,...
Shipping Time Ships in 4 to 7 working days

Only 1 left in stock with 1 in shopping carts, order soon!
The peasants are revolting. Some, anyway. Others the good-hearted varlets, churls and nick purses of Follett’s latest are just fine. In a departure from his usual taut, economical procedurals (Whiteout, 2004, etc.), Follett revisits the Middle Ages in what amounts to a sort of sequel to The Pillars of the Earth (1989). The story is leisurely but never slow, turning in the shadow of the great provincial cathedral in the backwater of Kingsbridge, the fraught construction of which was the ostensible subject of the first novel. Now, in the 1330s, the cathedral is a going concern, populated by the same folks who figured in its making: intriguing clerics, sometimes clueless nobles and salt-of-the-earth types. One of the last is a resourceful young garland, Follett’s woman are always resourceful, more so than the menfolk who liberates the overflowing purse of one of those nobles. Her father has already lost a hand for thievery, but that’s an insufficient deterrent in a time of hunger, and a time when the lords were frequently away: at war, in Parliament, fighting lawsuits, or just attending on their earl or king. Thus, the need for watchful if greedy bailiffs and tough sheriffs, who make Gwendal grown-up life challenging. Follett has a nice eye for the sometimes-silly clash of the classes and the aspirations of the small to become large, as with one aspiring prior who had only a vague idea of what he would do with such power, but he felt strongly that he belonged in some elevated position in life. Alas, woe meets some of those who strive, a fact that touches off a neat little mystery at the beginning of the book, one that plays its way out across the years and implicates dozens of characters.A lively entertainment for fans of The Once and Future King, The Lord of the Rings and other multi-layered epics

Dimensions : 55 X 130 X 197 cm
Format : Paperback
Age Group : ADULT
Page Numbers : 1280

Customer Reviews

No reviews yet
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
0%
(0)
The Various Books we sell.
Clearance - These will generally be in the clearance category, some of these titles might be slightly defective but we do our best to make sure they are in mint quality before sending. Please see terms and conditions for more info.
Stock on Hand - These are the titles we have on hand in our warehouse that we can ship to you in a jiffy.
Publisher stock - these are titles that come from various suppliers, the delivery time for these will be higher than our on hand items which will be indicated in the dispatch time.